12 nidanas, 6 ayatanas, 5 khandas, 4 ariyasaccāni... am I missing any?

the 12 link DO and its relatives is one of the major formulas for the analysis of suffering in the EBT’s, another formula is that of the six sense bases, i.e the eye and sights meeting is contact, from contact arises consciousness, what one is conscious of one feels about, from feeling comes craving etc. Yet another angle is taken in the 5 aggregates, and of course perhaps the most foundational of all is the 4 noble truths.

Am I missing any? Are there any other standard formulas of this sort, that is focusing on the problem rather than the solution? I’m sort of thinking of a converse to the 37 aids to enlightenment, any suggestions??

1 Like

The three root defilements (lobha dosa moha)
The three type of suffering. (Pain, change, sankhara)

And permutation of DO factor.
6 types of contact, 6 types of consciousness, 6 sense bases, 6 external sense object, 18 dhatu, 3 feelings, 3 tanha,

4 flood, 4 elements, SuttaCentral

10 fetters, 20 identity views,

Also the list of right view by Ven. Sariputta

1 Like

Thank you prajnadeva! Is there a sutta reference to the ten fetters?


I should also throw the 4 flood


1 Like

If you’re looking for all the lists, Ven. Dhammasiri has compiled 857 such terms. Beware that his references are in PTS Format and may be a bit hard to trace.


Maybe this will help your search: SuttaCentral

I like the way you’re thinking. Too often the different formulas are seen as conceptually rigid and separate entities instead of different descriptions of the same processes. However when we compare occurrences of different formulas we find that the formulas are “in communication” with each other, almost as if the dhamma itself was self-aware, alive, and engaged in introspection. Then the formulas reveal their holographic, fractal, and crystalline nature.


The power and sovereignty of Mara.

I find it interesting that Mara is seen as the ultimate power in the world and not the Buddha or MahaBrahma. (AN4.15).

Mara is connected to all defilements: the bonds, the anusaya’s, the floods, the yokes, the asava’s, the tanha’s, the conceivings, twisted perceptions, wrong views, the bond and delight in heavens, delight in khandha’s, elation. All that stuff. In one word Mara.

Don’t you agree that desire (aka Mara) is the ultimate power in the world?

In the same sutta AN 4.15, the Buddha is regarded as “the best in the world”.
So, which one should we choose? The most powerful in the world (Mara) OR the best in the world (the Buddha)?

I think wisdom, the Dhamma-Jewel, is stronger than being under influence of delusion, under Mara’s sway. If this would not be true, awakening and vimutti is not possible. Wisdom must be stronger than all Mara’s tricks and powers. But i think Mara rules the world because not many people want and can life the totally pure life. They do not have that inner calling. It is, like the Christians say, hard not to act upon ego’s calling and listen to another calling.

Thank you @Preston I read the sutta, it took me quite a while, and I am not sure it really helped. I guess I am looking for the different ways the Buddha analysed suffering and craving, using specific conditionality, in different ways. I am familiar with DO, the aggregates, and the senses-contact methods of analysis and was wondering if there are other stock formulas of this type that I had missed. The sutta gives many formulaes but does not really indicate if they have a detailed analysis associated with them.

One or two things I did find curious - firstly the sutta says that a person can be reborn by the intentions of another - is this described or mentioned anywhere else? Quite remarkable.

Secondly - the sequence of blue - yellow - red - white, which I found curious, is this sequence mentioned elsewhere?

There certainly seem to be things that are listed in the suttas that appear to be nowhere explained or elaborated by them.

Most of the stuff in that sutta is pretty much a direct quote from somewhere else in the canon. I’m not sure about the topics you list, but I bet they’re found elsewhere.

Blue yellow red white is found in an AN sutta describing the eight liberations I think? Maybe someone else would be kind enough to pull it up.

Eight Liberation and Eight Dimensions of Mastery are two separate topics, but they may be related/ overlap


1 Like