3 characteristics

I feel scared from my insight meditation. I’ve started to get thoughts coming from my being while meditating saying not mine and I sense everything is suffering and life feels like a dream it seems like my ego is seeing the three characteristics very clearly and it doesn’t like it. It feels scarey I’m seeing firsthand that there is no happiness in this world and My mind doesn’t like it. I’ve been meditating for 13 years so I have some wisdom accrued over time. Has anyone else felt like this if so what do you do? I never do jhana but I do do metta, but even metta I could sense was suffering.

2 Likes

Greetings Marty :slight_smile:

Do you have a ‘real life’ sangha or any Dhamma friends with whom you can speak to about this? I ask because this is such a very difficult topic to address over the internet, with people who don’t know you, and cannot gain a proper understanding from only a few words printed on a screen.

The things you describe could be the result of many different things, and may or may not be related to meditation. It may be arising as a result of what else is happening in your world at the moment, and the things that your mind is focusing on.

Never-the-less if you are feeling scared during meditation, feeling any negative effects, then I would advise to stop it, until you have a better grasp on what is happening :slight_smile: As you say, you have been meditating for a long time, so you know when something is not right :slight_smile:

The most important thing is to be kind to yourself, and then to gently investigate where this stuff is coming from. This is where an external perspective from those who know you, or at least can interact with you, is the best way to go.

much metta

8 Likes