Amnesty Withdraws Award from Aung San Suu Kyi

1 Like

Good. She’s an embarrassment to Buddhists.

Javier - not much response to your rather sweeping statement. Perhaps most are being kind towards yourself. From posts I have read of yours, you are very knowledgeable. I encourage you to stick with what you know.
With metta

3 Likes

@kokomyanmar Do you know of any informed commentary that puts the recent behavior and inaction of Aung San Suu Kyi in a more favorable light?

I would guess that Aung San Suu Kyi, Thich Nhat Hanh and the Dalai Lama are probably the world’s most prominent Buddhists. Her seeming participation in, and lack of resistance to, what has happened in Myanmar has been demoralizing to many Buddhists.

5 Likes

I am no expert on the subject, but my guess is she has a lot less power than we think-- it is still a military junta with a penchant for being surprisingly de-centralized. I am not apologizing for her, but she may not have the power to prevent the slaughter. The generals may have just brought her on as a figurehead and duped her into thinking she has power. None of this probably has anything to do with practicing Buddhism, sadly.

5 Likes

@dharmacorps possibly true, possibly not, but good points.

Actually… in reading this thread, some beneficial (imo) thoughts occurred to me: perhaps Buddhism and Nationalism are essentially incompatible.

Nations/nationalism seem to require identity, and borders, and seem to depend on a military defense, and to encourage Views of people as citizen or alien, as worthy of legal protections and or benefits, or not, etc. It’s very tribal.