所 as "belonging"? 慢 as "notion"?

In Ven Anālayo’s translation of SA 103, he renders this sentence:[quote]「我於五受陰觀察非我、非我所,而非阿羅漢者,我於我慢、我欲、我使,未斷、未知、未離、未吐。」[/quote]loosely like this, I might have the wrong repetition selected for cut-and-paste:[quote]‘I examine these five aggregates of clinging as not self and not belonging to the self, yet I am not an arahant, with the influxes being eradicated. I have not yet abandoned the ‘I am’ conceit, the desire [related to the notion] ‘I am’, and the underlying tendency towards ‘I am’, have not yet [fully] understood it, not yet become sepa­rated from it, not yet vomited it out.’”[/quote]Most of this makes sense, but a few things are confusing:

This[quote]我於我慢[/quote]seems to be rendered as [quote]I have not yet abandoned the ‘I am’ conceit,[/quote]which is quite loose seeming to me, as a translation, but I am a novice.

Also this construction here:[quote]我於五受陰觀察非我、非我所,
‘I examine these five aggregates of clinging as not self and not belonging to the self, [/quote]Is this a “normal” usage of 所?

1 Like

@Coemgenu

我所 means mine .

My translations :

When I examine the five aggregates
of clinging , as not self and not mine ,
And since I am not an arahant yet ,
therefore my conceit, Sensuous desire , negatives , have not abandoned , not fully comprehended ,
not detached , not purified .

1 Like

[quote=“James2997, post:2, topic:5261”]
therefore my conceit