Being content vs not being content

This is an article I wrote a couple of days ago.

Disclaimer:

Please bear in mind I am a student of the Dhamma who likes to share personal thoughts/insights in order to help and be of benefit, engage in discussions that will be useful for myself and others, and throw ideas out there to be checked whether they are right, wrong, or not perfectly right, so as to improve my own understanding and that of others, and provide food for thought. Not to instruct, teach or tell people what to do. Consider me a learner and a beginner-practitioner with a fair amount of theoretical Dhamma knowledge who wants to improve and help self and others, but one with some deep personal experiences as well.

Constructive criticism and comments are welcomed and strongly encouraged. Destructive criticism shall be dealt with.

Being content vs not being content

Be content with and accept the feelings and occurences (effects, results - happiness & suffering) in the present moment as they are fully, as if they are perfectly good enough.
Do not be content with nor accept the quality of your actions by body, speech or mind (causes) in the present moment as good enough, but instead strive to improve yourself and your conduct each moment.

The feelings we feel, and the experiences we have in the present moment cannot be changed in the present moment. If we are suffering, we want that suffering to stop, and we want it to stop right here and right now, but that is impossible, because the effect is already taking place, and that effect is a result of what has happened in the past, and that past cannot be changed.

If we are happy in the present moment, we want to be even happier. And so we crave more from the present moment than it can offer.

All this craving for more of the present moment – whether more happiness, if there already is some, or happiness if there is suffering – only causes frustration, because it is an impossible thing to achieve.