Dating of the Vedas

I can’t find much solid evidence from some Google searches on how the dating of the Vedas is done. I imagine there would be some overlap with the methods for dating the Early Upanisads and Early Buddhist Texts.

One obvious method would be the language strata. Vedas use a much more primitive Sanskrit than the more refined “Classical” Sanskrit of the Ramayana and Mahabharata.

Another method that kept cropping up in online searches is archaeological evidence. For instance, that the river Saraswati is mentioned in the Vedas and now has some archaeological evidence?.. but I couldn’t find much to back up this claim.

So what are the methods and evidence for a conservative/scholarly estimate of the dating of the Vedas. (10,000 BCE is probably nothing more than wishful thinking.)

This may not be appropriate for this category so the @mods can move at their discretion.

Yes, it is a good point. I am no expert, but I believe the initial dating was by Max Muller in the 19th century. He said the Rig Veda was dated in the 2nd millenium BCE. I don’t have his actual arguments to hand so I can’t confirm the details, but dates of 1200 or 1500 are commonly mentioned. It would have been based on linguistic and cultural evidence, possibly informed by the recent discoveries of the Harappan civilization.

I am not sure how much recent research has been done on this, but so far as I know, Muller’s dates hold up reasonably well. There is a reasonable article on Wikipedia:

I found Witzel’s arguments on the formation of the Rig Veda to be persuasive. He argues that the central portions, or “family books” were maintained by distinct tribes within the Indo-Aryan communities. Only at the time of the classical Kuru Kingdom were these united into a single book, framed by the opening and closing chapters.

The Kuru Kingdom is identified with the Painted Grey Ware culture, which flourished roughly 1200 BCE to 600 BCE.