Enhancing culture through Buddhism

I’ve been exploring and a practicing Buddhist for 10 years or so and I still feel like a sterile ol’ mindfulness meditator that can recite the 3 marks of existence, 4 noble truths, eightfold path, ect. but my culture (american?) has no development, growth, cultured manifestations of these teachings in our daily life. Imagining what the disciples of the buddha, and sri lankans, thais, and burmese for that matter think and act like on a daily basis is very distant from my understanding (i think…). I’ve wanted to immerse myself in buddhist culture, movies, novels, tv shows, comics etc. just to be able to have a place to indulge that is not completely backwards from my philosophy of life. I think making buddhist cosmology and jataka tales more accessible just as we use nordic/greek cosmology in our everyday entertainments would be of immense benefit for all. I am really excited for Ajahn Punnadhammo’s book on buddhist cosmology coming out, his talks with ajahn sona were great. Does anyone have any other ideas of talks/books on the more lavish side of buddhism in english?

1 Like

Unfortunately no culture in “the world” can be found which embodies Buddhist values, even though obviously we can say SE Asian countries have been positively influenced by the dhamma, there is no dhammic culture. The only culture, as Ajahn Mun taught, was the culture and values of the noble ones. That means checking out from the samsaric world of movies, novels, tv shows, comics, and mass media in general. That said, I think the Buddhist cosmology book will be an excellent read, as are Jataka tales.

3 Likes

I agree with @dharmacorps that no culture in the world embodies Buddhist values… and yet… no matter where or when one is during the dispensation of a Buddha, I think one can see what can resonate.

A quote from Italo Calvino’s Invisible Cities: