For me...Buddhism is like the safety harness on a roller coaster

I have only been practicing meditation and studying Buddhism with a sangha for 3 years, and I took refuge and 5 precepts only 2 months ago. I am so new, but I have decided that for me, it is like the safety harness on a roller coaster.
It has changed everything.
I am a teacher and professor (99 11-year-olds, and 15 Master’s candidates at the moment), a wife and a mother of 2 teenage boys and 1 pre-adolescent girl. I lead a very busy life. On the surface I look happy.
But life is suffering, and my delusions are the cause of my suffering.
I am a perfectionist.
Nothing I do is ever good enough for me.
This is this cause of my suffering, always has been.
I suffer from delusion and greed for recognition and acceptance from others.
I want everyone to like me.
I cling to the notion that people really care about the little tiny mistakes I may make during the course of each day.
Now I know that it is possible to stop my own suffering, which I never thought was possible.
When I feel myself flying off the rails, instead of reaching for a glass of wine, or crying, or yelling at someone, I breathe.
I recognize my thought patterns and can let them go, sometimes.
I have a more clear sense of the impermanence of life, and what is really important (each moment).
I no longer live in fear of sickness and death. (well, for the most part, it’s a work in progress).
It is the progress towards understanding that is important.
It is the harness that keeps me from flying out of the rollercoaster. I may be going too fast sometimes, but I no longer feel like I’m going to fly out and smash my head on the pavement.
Now I can really enjoy the ride, even though it’s really scary.

12 Likes

Bel, welcome to Sutta Central!

I wonder if you have heard of wabi-sabi? The Japanese, in their pursuit of perfection have acknowledged that one must put limits to the pursuit of perfection and even cultivate imperfection itself as a requisite.