SuttaCentral

Four Wrongs of Math

I used to be a math teacher, back in my school years, I used to wonder that why did my teachers all write equations so that they are all equal to zero?

And so now, I have a math koan for those whose kamma is inclined towards mathematics.

Four Wrongs of Math.

We get used to write equations in this way without knowing that it is not even a bit correct, for example, the equation: x2 - 2x + 3 = 0, thus we write.

But the more correct form should be: 0 = x2 - 2x + 3

But it is still wrong, the right way should be: = x2 - 2x + 3

Ok, not entirely correct yet, absolutely the correct way must be :

Oh no, this is still wrong and right, shouldn’t it thus be: =

4 Likes

I prefer: 0 = world^2 - 2 world + 2

2 Likes

3 Likes

(x−a)^2 + (y−b)^2 = r^2
In the circle of samsara,
When a=x, b=y, then extinguishment…

1 Like

When r = 0, I am extinguished with no return to any state of existence. :hole:

2 Likes

1 Like

Don’t we want the “what i know” to be inversely related to uncertainty? So uncertainty drops as “what you know” increases?

1 Like
     = 3

nibbana is perfect non-greed, perfect non-hatred and perfect non-delusion

A nice fun DD thread of math puzzles.

Solutions to 3 of the problems in the series and from a mathematical and Buddhist perspective:

x^2 – 2x +3 = 0

This quadratic equation has no real roots solution, no matter how we write it, because its discriminant is negative. I.e. Square root of a negative number has only imaginary solutions. In this case two imaginary solutions are

x = 1 ± i √2 , where by conventional mathematical definition i = √-1 (which is not a real number)

0 = W^2 – 2W +2

This quadratic equation also has no real roots or solutions. Its imaginary solutions are:

W = 1 ± i

So one way to interpret that solution from a Buddhist perspective is that World is One with or without an imaginary i.

Uncertainty = What I don’t know / What I do