Going forth, conducive to meditation practice or bogged down with monastic duties?

Some lay traditions are well established in providing space for longer retreats in meditation. The tradition of vipassana that I am a student in, allows for teachers to sit in seclusion for up to 60 days, and students for up to 45 days. During this time, the meditator has room and board provided. The students sole responsibility is meditation. This sustained seclusion is great for developing samma samadhi and for doing the hard work of removing deep sankharas.

Many lay followers decide to ordain after becoming well established in meditation. Which leads to the question; is there opportunity for monastics to retreat into meditation for sustained lengths of time or are there too many duties that would make this style of practice difficult? I’m sure some monastics will retreat for years, is this common? What are the realities of ordaining? I’m sure there are a variety of answers stemming from a variety of traditions and I would love to hear them all. With metta :pray:t3:

5 Likes

First 5 years, under dependence, have to learn all sorts of things, like a phD course on how to become a monk. Depending on where you ordain too, meditation maybe the main part of the schedule too. Eg. Pa Auk tradition.

Things I am learning now:

1. Vinaya
  2. Chanting (need to memorize)
  3. Pali
  4. Sewing

Then of course, there’s chores, walking for alms, etc… so many things to occupy the time, but still, I found a lot of free time to read, a lot.

It’s good to have strong meditation, but sutta foundation still need to be there to make sure right view is there.

Monks, depending on how you wish to live your monk life, should also eventually learn how to:

1. Give Dhamma talks,
  2. Write Dhamma articles,
  3. Teach, in many situations, like for general laity, for the newcomers in the monastery etc.
  4. Learn to live in harmony in a group.