Help confronting spiritual dryness

Warm greetings to you all,

I have been practicing the Dhamma in relative isolation for about two years now. My life is fairly quiet for a lay practitioner. But in that time I’ve experienced periods of progress and periods of regress. In many ways, I’ve come to distrust the feelings and thoughts that arise out of both periods. It is especially difficult for me to judge the quality and efficacy of my practice because of this.

In times when my practice appears to be progressing, abiding by the precepts seems natural, and meditation appears to lead to deeper states of tranquility… well, it seems in a sense easier—though maybe this isn’t the right word. In those times of regress, which I am experiencing right now, everything seems to fall apart. What gains I’ve apparently made seem lost. It seems a struggle to be mindful. Where the precepts seemed front and center to my mind just a week ago, I now have to remove the mental detritus that seems to accumulate. I feel exhausted and meditation seems punishing. Bad habits and old thought patterns are struggling to resurface. And in spite of my best efforts, I find myself pining for the pleasant. The old bind of the mind training—itself—the mind that needs to be trained.

But I persist. Though there is plenty of grumbling from the committee that is my mind—especially from the Statler and Waldorf faction.

I have to think that the very fact that I’m experiencing this regression might imply that I’m not making the progress that I believe. The whole experience is humbling, painful, and discombobulating. I feel at times like I’m barely keeping my head above the crests and troughs.

I’ve shadowed this group for a long time. And I must admit that I’ve been too intimidated to comment or post because you all seem so experienced and I don’t know what I could possibly offer. But I’m currently reading the Majjhima Nikaya and the following passage in the Mahagopalaka Sutta resonated with me: