How do YOU know its Sentient?

Well, this recent post…

triggered this good ol’ million dollar question once again in my mind…

> “How do we know its Sentient?”

Now that is something I have been puzzling about for many years now, and much of it inspired by this very forum! How many times have we read angst filled accounts of guilt ridden people seeking to come to terms with the strict injunction of the first precept and the demands of ordinary life where, let’s face it some loss of life is inevitable from our most mundane daily activities - driving, walking, house cleaning, taking antibiotics …

There was this comment by someone (?@paul1) many years ago on a thread regarding animals. The gist of it was that animals and cockroaches scurry away when approached, but so do video game characters - does that mean the bots are sentient?

Interestingly, the Pali suttas don’t seem to define what exactly is meant by a Sentient Being (satta), they only enjoin us not to harm them. But, the Chinese parallels have interesting inserts in such passages, for example in the Kalama sutta parallel…

MA16
With conscience and modesty and with kindness and compassion, they are beneficial to all living things, even insects and worms.

which makes one wonder if its a later insert!

So, coming back to the topic - how do you know its Sentient? What criteria do you think to be appropriate?

:smiley:

3 Likes

For whoever/whatever 5 precepts are applicable those things are sentient.

1 Like

IMHO, anything that is organic and volitionally or instinctually pursues the conditions for its happiness and/or freedom from its pain.

Perhaps this is too simplistic? :confused:

3 Likes

Good point! It does certainly seem that at the time of the Pali EBT texts, one was supposed to make a personal decision.

There are always the hardliners though (Devadatta comes to mind) who insist on stricter and stricter interpretations.