How to still a restless mind during meditation?

Hi all!

So I’ve been meditating on and off for several years. Just by closing my eyes and not thinking about anything particularly, which is very relaxing.

Lately I’ve been looking into Buddhism, quite obsessively actually because I love reading about it and practicing it. Regarding the five hindrances, I get really stuck on restlessness. Sometimes I can focus on my breath for a minute perhaps, but mostly I get distracted and start thinking about other things a few breaths into it.

It’s frustrating, because I tell myself that I’m going to remain concentrated and then I’m off again on other thoughts a few seconds later.

Any thoughts on this for a beginner?

Thanks!

4 Likes

Do you follow the five precepts strictly? What about sense restraint? If those things are not relatively stable, your mind will be spread out all over the place. That is why virtue is so important. It brings things together into a certain place in terms of your general lifestyle, i.e. the aggregate of virtue will give you the space to calm things even further. And that must be maintained always, not just when you choose to sit.

I hope that helps. :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

Hi and welcome.

I think you would like to take a look at the Mahāsatipaṭṭhānasutta (MN 10). What you are describing is part of the path… Briefly, you’ll attentively observe how the hindrances arise and pass by not clinging to them.

Sitting is not the only form of meditation. In the modern world, many of us sit all day anyhow, so it’s good to consider alternate postures for meditation. We really shouldn’t spend all day on our butts.