I am a Theravadin

Thanks Alex for pointing out that my Wikipedia page has been updated to prominently feature me saying “I’m not a Theravadin”. Kind of weird, TBH.

FWIW, it says “recently”, but I’ve been saying that for at least twenty years, so I guess in a historical sense that’s “recent”?

Here’s the thing. I cordially dislike any form of identarianism, and don’t really think of myself or anyone else as belonging to a group. It seems an odd way to think about people. Sad, reductive even. People are quirky, weird, and individual, that’s what makes them interesting.

Around the late 90s I started reading a little about different parallels and schools of Buddhism, etc. Before that I never really thought too much about it, Buddhism was just what I found myself in. Obviously I ordained in a Theravada sangha, so in terms of my ordination lineage and Vinaya training I am Theravadin.

But as I found out, that is mostly a nominal reality. The differences between the actual Vinayas is small, and the differences in practices of monastics is large, even within the same “school”. I gradually began to realize the awful truth. Don’t tell anyone, but the main purpose of lineage is real estate. It’s about who gets to control and inherit land and property.

Early noughts I read an excellent book by David Kalupahana, A History of Buddhist Philosophy:

He departed from the usual approach of looking at different texts and authors as exponents of a school. He identified various texts from different sources—Kathāvatthu, Diamond Sutra, Nagarjuna, Dignanga, probably some others if my memory serves—and looked at them as clarifying and explaining different aspects of the Dhamma from different perspectives. This was the first time when I felt that the discussions in ancient Buddhist history came alive for me. I could never relate to just belonging to a school and thinking therefore that defined who I am and what I believe.