Influence of Chinese dialects on transliteration of proper nouns in sutras

I’ve been wondering about this since I heard about the difficulty of reconstructing the original Sanskrit versions of proper nouns in Chinese Buddhist texts. I used to know some Mandarin Chinese, which I studied in China. One thing you learn quickly in China is how many dialects there are and how different their pronunciation can be. So, I’ve been wondering if modern scholars who are trying to reconstruct proper nouns are taking this into account? Maybe @cdpatton knows?

5 Likes

Yes. But it’s more complicated than just the Chinese pronunciations. Scholars have reconstructed classical and middle Chinese syllables from rhyme books written during the Tang and Song dynasties that would have been the actual sounds of transliteration. And they were often very different than Mandarin. Mandarin is a fairly new language in China that developed after the Song fell.

The unknown in reconstructing early Buddhist transliterations is the Indic original, which was often a Prakrit like Gandhari instead of Sanskrit or Pali. The shifting pronunciations of Buddhist Hybrid Sanskrit also adds uncertainties. There are scholars who spend their time trying to deduce the original Indic language of early Chinese translations. It’s quite a detective story because we have only fragments of some of those languages today.

Given the complexity of it, I revert to Sanskrit forms of the transliterations just to make it simpler for the reader. It’s difficult enough having Sanskrit and Pali versions of terms and proper names to keep straight when comparing parallels in English.

3 Likes

No one wants to have to learn “uasao” for “upasaka.”

3 Likes

Wow, that’s amazing considering that Chinese characters don’t convey sounds but ideas.

I just read about that in one of Richard Salomon’s books. He believes the “Gandhari hypothesis” have been proven to be correct.

Too true.

1 Like