Meditation - mind tends towards breath early

Hello all

I have been meditating on and off for about 4 years now and I just wanted to clarify something that has been bugging me.

I have read all of Ajahn Brahm’s books on meditation and just recently read the basics to meditation post. This year I am trying to start from the ground up again as a feel in the past I have missed out some important foundations.

The concern I have is that my mind is tending towards awareness of the breath before i have established silent awareness of the present moment (I think this is from so many years of going straight to the breath). This results in my awareness of the breath being broken by thoughts.

Should I keep bringing my awareness back away from the breath (e.g., to sounds in my environment) to establish silent awareness of the present moment first. Or, should I just let my mind do what it wants to do and remain on the breath.

I am confused whether to take the active or passive approach on this one.

Thanks in advance.

With metta

sam

3 Likes

I usually let go of breath and switch to hearing, or body sweeping, or “sound of silence”. How about standing meditation, walking or laying down?

I’ve also just skip the thought of meditate and just relax the whole thing, and the mind is more than willing to do nothing, as long as it is not forced to do what I want all the time.

One important advice I picked up from Ajahn B, is to consider the mind one’s best friend, and now we are hangin out like best friends like to do. Been working a bit on that aspect, and after a few months I am satisfied with a mind that is easier to switch to whatever, and also just switch to bare awareness

Best regards friend!

2 Likes

Hey sam,

Good question. I had the same experience in my most recent retreat where I dived into Aj. Brahm’s breath technique.

Like AB says, I think it really is good not to jump onto “Silent Present Moment Awareness of the Breath” too soon. Build a strong foundation first.