Metta in Early Buddhism

Hello all,

I am new to the site, and glad to be here.

I have been practicing for several years, but never delved too deeply into the suttas. I am curious to what extent the practice of metta is emphasized, if at all, in the early suttas? Along the same lines can anyone reccommend any contemporary teachers of buddhism that highlight metta as it was taught in the suttas? I am looking for essays/practice instructions, etc. Thank you all.

Bill

P.S: I have Bante Sujato’s retreat focusing on metta for the cultivation of jhana. It is wonderful. I am looking for additonal resources of a similar nature.

Hi Bill,

Welcome! Yes, metta is taught a lot in the suttas. Not only do we find beautiful texts like the Metta sutta, it is also included in the 4 brahma-viharas, which are found many times. In addition, it is also taught under different names, for example as "non-anger’ and so on, which is how it appears in the 8-fold path. So metta is very fundamental to the Suttas.

Thank you, Bhante! Great to connect with you. Your metta retreat recording has been very useful for me over the last six months. Do you reccomend any other resources from contemporary teachers regarding metta? Thanks again.-Bill

I’m sorry, but I don’t keep track of everything that’s out there. perhaps someone else knows of something. Anyway, glad you found the teachings useful.

O.K. No problem. Thank you for your response.-Bill

Dear Bill,

where are you from? In November / December this year Bhante Sujato will come to Europe again and give teachings on Metta meditation. He will be in Austria, Italy, France, Poland and Germany. For more details you can follow this website, details will be published here as time comes.

With metta,
Maria