Mindfulness in mental tasks?

Hi, I’m only recently coming to learn about Buddhism, and I’ve read some books about the practice of mindfulness in different situations, for example, walking, drinking tea and doing the dishes. However it seems like most of examples I’ve read about are things that predominantly physical.

What I’m curious about is how can mindfulness be applied for tasks are mostly mental in nature, such as writing, or as a software engineer myself, coding?

2 Likes

Hi @Fezmaster
Welcome to Discover and Discuss (D&D) forum. We hope you find the discussions here beneficial and enjoyable. Please make use of the various resources, FAQs, and previous threads; you can use the search function for topics and keywords you are interested in. Forum guidelines are here:
https://discourse.suttacentral.net/guidelines

If you have any questions or need further clarification regarding anything, feel free to contact the moderators by including @moderators in your post or a PM.
With Metta,
trusolo
On Behalf of the Moderators,

1 Like

The Satipatthana sutta (Majjhima Nikaya 10) has four foundations, the first of which is body and the third being mind.

This is Analayo’s instruction for the initial stage of mind contemplation, which is just a single skill comprising part of a broader framework (Right Effort of the noble eightfold path does involve intervention in thought processes):

“It is noteworthy that contemplation of the mind does not involve
active measures to oppose unwholesome states of mind (such as lust
or anger). Rather, the task of mindfulness is to remain receptively
aware by clearly recognizing the state of mind that underlies a particular train of thoughts or reactions. Such uninvolved receptivity is
required because of one’s instinctive tendency to ignore whatever
contradicts or threatens one’s sense of importance and personal integrity. The habit of employing self-deception to maintain one’s self