Multi-tasking and Mindfulness

Bikhu Cintita suggested (forgive me, I cannot remember where I read it but it was during some reading I did for the Open Buddhist University) that we do not multi-task to increase mindfulness. I found that in doing certain university assignments (I am studying Library and Information Science at UNISA) I can concentrate better while listening to music. I can understand the idea of cleaning, walking, or driving perhaps without music as a way to increase mindfulness. Is there certain times, however, when mindfulness are easier attained with some form of distraction (like doing assignments while listening to music)? Or how does it work?

Using reason and logic, that is, acquired knowledge, we get caught in dualistic positions: right and wrong, good and bad, etc. We tend to establish a fixed view about things. In this talk Ajahn Sumedho is trying to get us to a place beyond such dualistic thinking, beyond taking sides. He says that intuitive awareness involves a one-pointedness (ekaggata) that includes, rather than excludes. It is not dualistic. Transcendence is a matter of “being” it, not thinking about it.

https://dharmaseed.org/teacher/10/?search=point+that+includes

There are lots of studies on multi-tasking and my impression is that it’s not possible to actually multi-task. Lots of people think they can drive better after drinking alcohol, though simple research proves otherwise.

With mundane worldly tasks, there is concentration and there’s also “flow” but I’m not convinced that music can help with better attention to your mental tasks. After all, the mind needs to stay on task or flow is lost. Distraction can snap one right out of flow. Perhaps what’s happening when working on your assignments is that music gives you energy which keeps you from breaking away from the task for a worse distraction. I might guess that music without words would be less of a hook.