New to Buddhism with questions

Hello friends,

I am very new to Buddism, so please kindly excuse my naive question.

I find the fundimental teachings (Four noble truth, Eight fold path, non-self, dependent origination) and practices very helpful and was naturally drawn to it.

However I am a bit taken back by some supernatural aspects in some of the Mahayana sutras (like the Lotus Sutra or the Buddhāvataṃsaka Sūtra).

I was wondering is “faith” a nessessary for practicing the Buddhist way? Or can one pick and choose and only belief the part of the scipture he/she believe in?

Thank you very much.

3 Likes

Whether you take something on faith, suspend belief or just outright disbelieve it, the common thread there is a lack of definitive knowledge. Best course of action is something Ajahn Nyanamoli says often in his talks, which is to find what is least likely to be wrong and go from there. A wonderfully fascinating effect of spending years with the suttas is that they blossom and deepen over time - meanings will change and grow with effort and development in generosity, virtue (precepts) and sense restraint.

7 Likes

From my experience of long time reading Mahayana sutras,
Those are not meant for beginner. Except some that clearly give basic teaching and pureland/ Sukhavati sutras, most of Mahayana sutras are for advanced practitioners.

1. Sometimes they mention and refer to doctrines that you must find in early sutta. So you need to be familiar with those.

2. Sometimes they describe experience or obstacles, that I think happen after you practice for quite some time. So, not for beginner.

3. Things described that doesn’t make sense - maybe it is literary feature, or it is describing some kind of higher experience. Again, this need to be interpreted, and certainly cant be taken at face value.

4. Goal of Mahayana is universal salvation, brought by one’s own hand. To do this you need to develop aspiration to save all beings from suffering.