On modern tendencies and good practice

This is something I have been thinking about for some time. As a psychologist, I am excited about advances in my field of interest. However, I am also quite skeptical about the (very bad, in my opinion) tendency of looking for psychological applications of spiritual traditions. Naturally, I’ll talk about Buddhism here, but I think this is applicable to other spiritual traditions as well.

Briefly, I think psychologists (of course, not every single one of us) that make use of mindfulness-based interventions, for example, are grossly misrepresenting what mindfulness means in the wider context of a spiritual tradition that has hundreds of years of accumulated experience and wisdom. In other words, what I see is that people are extracting what they consider to be convenient for them and throwing away other elements that they do not want to deal with: “it is nice to be mindful, but renunciation, restraint, or what-not, I don’t want these”. This has some level of self-criticism: I have engaged in this type of behavior too.

So I’d like to hear from you what your thoughts are. Do you believe this is a real issue or am I being over-zealous?

P.S.: I do not oppose the idea that people could get benefits from meditation practices, but I do not think it is a positive thing to adopt a vocabulary which mimics the terminology that has a very specific (and often richer) meaning inside a tradition like Buddhism.

5 Likes