Restarting as a Layperson with Mental Illness

Dear All.

I was recommended this site as a place to find answers by the Buddhism Stack Exchange site moderators as they felt that some of the users here may have the correct experience to help me.

I wish to restart following the way of Buddhism as a Layperson, both in the practice of meditation and wholesome living. I humbly ask for your help with this.

A little about my background.

I am a British man living in England. I have a University Degree from Kings College London in Mathematics.

I used to practice meditation as best I could from books. I have a copy of the Dhamapada as well as several books on practice by the Tibetan Dalai Llama. But I cannot be sure from these sources whether I have practised the meditation techniques correctly in the past.

I also have practised a Japanese Martial Art called Shorinji Kempo for many years. A form of Zen Buddhism called Kongo Zen is taught along with meditation and the physical techniques. Although I have gained much from the study of this, I worry that the teachings of Zen Buddhism from this source may not be in keeping with the correct practices.

I also have a diagnosis of a serious mental illness and have to take medication in order to keep me from hallucinating and developing delusions. I have been cautious of trying too complex a form of meditation for several years because of this. However now I feel I may be able to resume the practice.

My questions.

What would be the best way for me to learn the ways of meditation and wholesome living?
Will the medicine I am taking prevent me from reaching the first steps towards enlightenment?
Finally how different is Kongo Zen to more mainstream forms of Buddhism?

Thank you all.

6 Likes

My recommendation is like from Buddha keep practicing on mindfulness breathing. It’s simple. In it is all the answer.

Welcome to SuttaCentral :hugs: May your practice grow and flourish as you grow on the path.