So I decided to write my own Pali textbook

I can’t believe I’m getting close to the 2 month anniversary since I started learning Pali.

So now I have reached the stage of a fully developed Dunning Kruger syndrome - I am now conceited (and foolish enough) to believe I can write my own textbook on learning Pali.

Why am I bothering? I have been steadily getting frustrated with all the other textbooks - they don’t seem to teach me the way I would like to be taught (which is Everything, Everywhere, All At Once). Some textbooks take a whole book to cover the grammar - I prefer to get an overview right up front so I can start reading almost immediately. Textbooks also focus on the vocabulary and introducing lots of words I am not sure I’ll need. These days it’s easy to lookup an electronic dictionary so I prefer just to learn as I go along. Lastly a lot of textbooks either cover too much detail, or not enough detail. I want a textbook that just teaches enough to get me started, but provide a comprehensive overview, not just bits and pieces.

And lastly, there is an adage “Those who can, do. Those who can’t, learn. Those who can’t learn, teach.”

I started reading Kaccāyana about three weeks ago and decided that it contained all the information I need, but it was very hard to navigate and full of complex rules. So I initially started writing “An Idiot’s Guide to Kaccāyana” but quickly realised it was morphing into something quite different. I am still using Kaccāyana as my primary source of reference, but at the end of the day the structure and most of the explanatory text is mine. I also developed a notation style for marking up Pali sentences with grammatical tags. All the hard and complex stuff will be moved to appendices. The textbook is also focused on learning how to read Pali, and much less on being able to write or speak it, so my focus isn’t on teaching the finer points of grammar or how to do all the right transformations to conjugate a verb or decline a noun.