The mind is flat

‘The mind is flat’ is a book by Neuroscientist Nick Chater. I haven’t read it yet but Chater gave an interesting interview. He said, for example, that “we cannot find ourselves, because there is no self to be found within us”, and that we invent stories about the world outside and within ourself and change narratives constantly as we go along, all based on a selective one-thing-at-a-time process of perception. Sounds familiar? The book seems to present some very interesting psychological and neuroscientific evidence, but I am no expert. Has anybody read it, perhaps?

1 Like

Can I ask, what is the metaphor that he’s meaning by calling the mind “flat”?

I recently saw an article on neuroscience that suggested that the brain operates with an eleven dimension geometry! Which probably has nothing to do with the “flat” mind, but it is fun:

3 Likes

Experience can be made purposeful:

“The mind is not a blank slate. Even before contact is made at the senses, the factors of bodily, verbal, and mental fabrication have already gone out looking for that contact, shaping how it will be experienced…
Because in an untrained mind, these fabrications are influenced by ignorance, they lead to suffering and stress…
The main role of right mindfulness here is to provide a solid framework for observing the activity of fabrication. At the same time it remembers lessons drawn from right view in the past- both lessons learned from reading and listening to the Dhamma, as well as lessons learned from reading the results of your own actions- that can be used to shape this activity in a more skillful direction.” —Thanissaro

The mind is not flat, perceptions are the result of views formed over time: