Tranquil Wisdom Meditation

I was wondering if I could get some feedback on tranquil wisdom meditation? I was thinking of attending a retreat where this is taught. I am very new to Buddhism and this would be my first retreat so, I don’t want to be led astray. In the introduction of the book I am reading it says, ( not verbatim) that it could cause criticism because it gives ideas that go against the belief that Buddha taught two separate types of meditation techniques.
I’m asking the people on this forum because I trust your opinion, and my knowledge of such things is but a sand granule. :slight_smile:

Thank you for your help.

2 Likes

I would suggest following the below path first. Listen, read and become well established in your understanding before rushing to do serious retreats. Meditating without proper understanding can cause various misunderstandings in the path.

It is recommended:

1. association with spiritual friends
  2. listening or reading the True teachings
  3. proper contemplation and comprehension of the teachings
  4. practicing the Path (including Tranquility and Wisdom meditation) SN55.5

With metta

Mat

2 Likes

I’ve never used Bhante Vimalamsi’s teaching specifically, but it all sounds fine and very sutta-based. The recognition that the Buddha did not teach two entirely different forms of meditation, but rather a set of techniques that are conducive to both insight and deepening concentration, seems to be a common theme in much contemporary thinking on meditation, and a welcome change from the imbalanced perspective in some parts of the modern vipassana movement. Venerable Analayo has a new book that makes the same point:

Peter Harvey, in a forward to the book, writes: