What is the Typical Asian Diet?

I’ve been eating a mostly vegetarian diet for about the last eight months. I would like to incorporate meat back into my diet, while nonetheless eating healthier than before.

In the typical American diet, we eat too much red meat and junk food, and not enough fruits and vegetables. The typical Asian diet is healthier in comparison:

Folks in Asian countries tend to have lower rates of cancer, heart disease and obesity than Americans do, and they typically live longer, too. Researchers suspect that owes largely to their diet: a low-fat, healthy eating style that emphasizes rice, vegetables, fresh fruit and fish, with very little red meat.
https://health.usnews.com/best-diet/traditional-asian-diet

While it’s often assumed that Buddhism in general is vegetarian, this is not inherently the case:
https://www.buddhanet.net/e-learning/dharmadata/fdd21.htm

Asia covers a wide sweep of the globe and a number of different climatic zones, so there is really no typical diet. I’ve just returned from a week in urban Malaysia where I was treated to large amounts of fried food with lots of carbs and meat and small quantities of overcooked veggies: delicious but not at all healthy. … One contrast to this is the traditional Japanese diet that consists of small quantities of rice with lightly cooked fresh veggies and seaweed, with high quality protein coming from tofu and seafood. … But another contrast is the traditional wheat, meat and rancid butter (supplemented with imported sugar etc) of rural Mongolia. … If you’re looking for healthy I’d suggest investigating Japanese, Thai and Chinese cuisines, all of which can be easily converted to vegetarian if desired.

3 Likes

Thank you for your response. I’m more interested in learning the ingredients of a typical Asian diet, rather than specific recipes, to see if the food they traditionally eat helps with health and longevity.

One thing that probably unites most Asian diets is: rice.