What's the meaning of "vadāmītipi" and "vadantītipi"?

I’m studying the Arahanta-sutta in its Pali version. I’ve a doubt about the translation of “ahaṃ vadāmītipi so vadeyya” and “mamaṃ vadantītipi so vadeyyā”. I know that ahaṃ means “I”, vadeyya means “could speak” and mamaṃ means “me”. But what’s the literally meaning of “vadāmītipi” and “vadantītipi”? I searched in the dictionary, but I didn’t find nothing.

Hi, it’s the verb ‘vadati’, “to speak, say, or tell”

1st per singular and 3rd per plural, present indicative.

The final vowel is lengthened before the ‘ti’ ( end quote marker ‘iti’), and the ‘pi’ has the sense of “also, too”. (‘api’)

3 Likes

So, the meaning of “ahaṃ vadāmītipi” is “I speak” and “mamaṃ vadantītipi” means “they speak to me”? How could I insert the sense of “api” in the translation? Thank you in advance.

Yes.
The ‘pi’ has the sense of ‘also’.

Without looking at the context, perhaps something like “I also say”?

How is it rendered it the translation you are using?

May I ask which grammar book you are using?

1 Like

I’m reading the translations of Bodhi and Sujato: SuttaCentral.

The grammar book I’m using is this: http://www.tathagata.org/sites/default/files/Pali_Primer-LilyDeSilva.pdf. Do you think it’s good for starting? I’m currently searching for something of easy and then move on to something more challenging.

I’m just a beginner, so I have doubts even about simple things like the ones I asked you about.

1 Like

I think the DeSilva Primer is an excellent place to start (the first half), particularly if one is not experienced in highly inflected languages.

I usually recommend DeSilva — Gair & Karunatillake — Ven. Bodhi’s Pali reader.

3 Likes

Best wishes for your Pali studies.
Perhaps these videos will be helpful.

https://www.suttaandthecity.com/pali-basics/

3 Likes