A Discussion on Refugees & Providing Social Services

Brenna, I’d love to hear more about the work that you did with refugees and immigrant families. I’m off to Thailand in about 12 days, meeting with an NGO in Chiang Rai involved with helping refugees in northern Thailand from the Burma ethnic war. This particular NGO is involved in anti- child trafficking; the learning curve for me on these complex issues is somewhat steep. Maybe somewhere in SC ( Watercooler?) you could share some of your experiences and successes; I’d be happy to weigh in, too and there must be others on SC that have positive stories to share.

Michael

7 Likes

Hi Michael, I’d be happy to share my experiences, but you should know that they are very limited. I was an intern at an organization that provides social/human services to refugees/asylees, and I focused specifically on helping them find jobs.

3 Likes

That’s excellent, Brenna. Remarkable, too, that you were focused on employment for the families that you were advocating for. A year or so ago, I was part of a NGO in Thailand that sheltered young women, and job training was a key part of keeping them safe, and out of the stream of commerce of sex trafficking. Part of what I’d like to see in Chiang Rai is the level of basic vocational training that might be offered by this NGO; that seems key to keeping these girls and young women out of predatory environments.

4 Likes

That’s wonderful, Michael! That was what I experienced while working for this organization, that empowering people to have their own stable source of income is an important step in establishing quality of life. Without a source of income, they were largely dependent on the government for income, which was unstable unto itself.