A question about the refuge

Hello everybody.
I have started reading about Buddhism quite recently and am a total newbie. The idea is I live in Moscow and the autocratic power of the orthodox Christianity here is very strong, so Moscow doesn’t have even a single Buddhist temple at all. The more I read suttas the more I understand that (though I don’t personally believe in reincarnation) practicing Buddhism really makes a person happier and makes a person better and kinder. I read that when a person accepts Buddhism as his way of seeing things he asks for a refuge. Could anybody let me know, whether it is possible to do so today? Especially distantly, because I don’t think there are good conditions for such thing here in Moscow. Sorry guyz it is most probably a totally dumb question, but I don’t know how and where else to ask.

2 Likes

although i personally don’t think it’s an absolute prerequisite for self-identification as a Buddhist and for following the Dhamma, there’s a formal ceremony of taking the refuge conducted in the presence of an ordained monk

Here the process is described in greater detail
www.accesstoinsight.org/lib/authors/bodhi/wheel282.html#ref6

so if you’re interested in a formal method there’re a few ordained Russian Theravada monks living either in Moscow or in Saint Petersburg who may want to assist you
https://vk.com/club38411900
https://vk.com/topper_pannyaavudho
http://www.buddhavihara.ru/?page_id=52

and they frequently post on http://www.forum.theravada.ru/

as a sidenote, following Christianity faithfully too has a great potential of making one happier, better and kinder, so maybe the motives of going for refuge are worth being given a consideration

5 Likes