Are the meaning of sankhara in dependent origination and five aggregates the same?

Are both the same or is there differences in between sankhara in DO and in the five aggregates ?

2 Likes

They both have a similar meaning, i.e. intention or choice, especially intention or choice that has an ethical component and thus produces kammic results.

3 Likes

@sujato

does the meaning of
" intention " is confine
to " mental " aspect only ?

and in the DO ,
how does ignorant conditions
the intention (mentally)
(lead to bodily action & speech)
and thereafter
conditions the consciousness ?
Could you explain on how
it actually goes about ?

Yes please. I am studying paticca samuppāda and I need to understand the distinction as well.

So far, based on my little pondering and research, I’ve understood it concisely as follows:
The saṅkhārā in five aggregates stems from the saṅkhārā in dependent origination. That is to say, the volition, whether voluntary or involuntary, gives rise to Vijñāna which is essentially same as name-form or the five aggregates. Thus the two seem to refer to essentially one mechanism on the surface, although it seems to be a recursive process, by which, saṅkhārā builds itself over and over.
Put another way by an example of language:
Letters construct words, and words construct sentences. saṅkhārā in five aggregates is the mechanism by which this process occurs. It shapes meaning of those otherwise meaningless sounds. And then, those words and sentences - concepts, ideas- give rise to saṅkhārā in dependent origination, that is to say, by way of concepts and ideas, volition is shaped, which again, gives rise to the five aggregates.

It sounds like a vicious cycle.
Does that make sense (supposing language and logic barrier has a place in Buddhism)?

Name and form is not exactly equal to consciousness.

Name is defined as: feeling, perception, intention, contact and attention.

In contact, one can say it contains consciousness.