Attachment to the Signless Element?

Hello friends, this is my first time posting after lurking for a while. Recently I came across a biography of Ven. Maha-Moggallana by Hellmuth Hecker (1994) while researching the Signless Element. In the fourth section, I came across a passage:

In doing so, he gained the “Signless Concentration of Mind,” which is free from all that marks (or signifies) conditioned existence and which affords a glimpse of the “Signless Element,” Nibbana (Samy. 40,9). But this attainment, too, was not final as yet. For even here he lapsed into a subtle enjoyment of it. Such refined attachment is still a delusive “sign” or “mark” superimposed on a high spiritual attainment of greatest purity. But aided by the Master’s instructions, he could free himself from these last fetters and attain to perfect “Deliverance of Mind” and “Deliverance by Wisdom,” in all their fullness and depth.

Assuming that the “Signless Concentration of Mind” refers to the Cessation of Feelings and Perception, I’m confused on how it’s possible to assign a sign to it such that it would allow for clinging. Or perhaps this assignment and clinging happens after exiting from that state? Based on the way the jhanas are taught in the Suttas–to realize the weariness from the current coarse state to enter into a finer state–it would make sense that even the Signless Concentration ought not to be clung onto, and any clinging should be abandoned. Logistically, though, I don’t understand how the clinging arises in the first place when there was neither feelings, perceptions, nor consciousness present.

Also, does anyone know the source for this story? The author did not put any citations regarding this particular episode nor what the instructions were, so I don’t know where to go look for more info.

Thank you for your responses!

Hi Luxtabilio,