Can we call nibbana as true/real/higher self?

Please pardon me if I am rude but I just want to know the truth, only 7% of human population believe in no self so we really need evidence that the rest or the 93% are completely wrong

Buddha said that whatever is impermanent is suffering and whatever is suffering should not be called as self

But in other sutta buddha said that not even nibbana should be called as self if nibbana is permanent why did buddha refuse to call it as self ?

Why did buddha make contradictory statements like these ?

What’s the problem with clinging or grasping to nibbana ?

Due to the nature and difficulty of the topic I will invite bhante @sujato and bhante @Brahmali even in quora you invite the experts I too hope our Venerables can solve this

I am sorry for my bad English I am still learning the language

1 Like

Because self involves clinging and in nibbana nothing is clung to. This can be seen in the upper meditation subjects where clinging is progressively removed.

What’s the problem with clinging or grasping to nibbana ?

Nibbana is not clung to, but the path leading to it is, and during that time the concept of nibbana is clung to.

Ananda speaking to a nun:

“The thought occurs to him, ‘I hope that I, too, will — through the ending of the fermentations — enter & remain in the fermentation-free awareness-release & discernment-release, having known & realized them for myself in the here & now.’ Then he eventually abandons craving, having relied on craving. ‘This body comes into being through craving. And yet it is by relying on craving that craving is to be abandoned.’ Thus was it said.”—AN 4.159

Because the end of the path is unconditioned and the path is conditioned it is recommended to avoid suttas addressed to the arahant level and focus on those delivered to or by Ananda, nuns, Rahula, laypersons, or concerning the Buddha-to-be’s pre-enlightenment experiences.