Confusing translation in AN 3.34

Hey, first post here! I just wanted to check if I’m understanding AN 3.34 right.

I found the following in particular to be confusing:

Any deed that emerges from greed—born, sourced, and originated from greed—ripens where that new life-form is born. And wherever that deed ripens, its result is experienced—either in the present life, or in the next life, or in some subsequent period.

So, which is it? Does Kamma only ripen in the next life, as the first sentence implies, or during both this life and the next?

Bhikkhu Bodhi’s translation has the same dilemma:

Any kamma, bhikkhus, fashioned through greed, born of greed, caused by greed, originated by greed, ripens wherever the individual is reborn. Wherever that kamma ripens, it is there that one experiences its result, either in this very life, or in the next rebirth, or on some subsequent occasion.

I’m no expert, but I checked the Pali used, “attabhāvo nibbattati”.

Now, while the official translation of “nibbattati” is “is born, results, arises”, in other Suttas it’s translated as “manifests”, e.g. AN 5.148

“Attabhāva”, aka “living being”, is also an interesting word. I guess a literal translation would be “conditioned self”?

So it’s more of a “wherever the conditioned self manifests”, implying both this life and future ones, rather than only after rebirth?

4 Likes