Earth touching mudra

The Buddha sitting and touching the earth with one hand is a well known image, and the accompanying story tells us that at the eve of his awakening, he called the earth for witness of his former lives and deeds.

There is no mention of this story anywhere in the Suttas, as far as I can find. Does anyone know when and where it first appears? Ayya @Suvira maybe? Thanks in advance!

7 Likes

One place is the Nidanakatha:

https://www.ancient-buddhist-texts.net/English-Texts/Jataka-commentary/JA-Nidana.htm

Honestly, I think everyone should spend time reading the whole thing.

This seems to be a popular hand position across many cultures:

https://buddharupa.org/tag/bhumisparsha-mudra/

10 Likes

I’m not an expert on Mara! It’s not in the canon, and it’s not in the Lalitavistara or Buddhacarita, either. I don’t know if it’s in the Abhiniskrama Sutra, the 佛本行集經 in Chinese, but that’s @cdpatton’s area.

The earth-touching mudra seems to show up in art by the 9th century in the Pala period. The Nidanakatha could easily be the first textual reference.

This article by Ananda Guruge is informative, but not 100% certain about his interpretation of some art from the Gandharan period.

https://www.accesstoinsight.org/lib/authors/guruge/wheel419.html#ch-2

2 Likes

Why not? Perhaps you should! (Try out the “Mara” theme in Bilara—I use it and am happy with it! :darth_vader: :wink:)

Thanks everybody for your help!

While the Jatakas are on SuttaCentral, the Nidanakatha is not. Why? Bhante @sujato?

1 Like

There’s a Han-era avadāna, the *Cārya-nidāna (修行本起經; T 184) translated in 197 AD, that has the earth touching episode in the story. That’s the earliest dating I know of. I remember mainly because someone asked me to translate the passage for them a year or two ago.

5 Likes