Finding a teacher

Was thinking. I want to deepen my practice as seeing The Buddha as a teacher. I used to be a teacher so it can kinda relate in seeing lessons that way.

But around these parts it’s hard to find a teacher here. The temples I went to the monastics aren’t fluent in English. Pthers ate three or s hours so I’d have to plan for that retreat ahead of time.

Anywayz, how do you find a teacher? I know we practice by ourselves but it does help to have someone to help as well.

I looked it up…but looking for fresh thoughts on the subject.

2 Likes

The monks at the Wat I attend in the United States aren’t fluent in English either (they are from Thailand), but so far I have not experienced that as a barrier. In fact, the head monk and I have an arrangement whereby I help him practice his English and he provides me with private Dhamma lessons (that is how he practices his English). It works very well. The Wat also provides meditation lessons once a week in English to Americans who want to learn the Dhamma. The monks try very hard to teach us in English. The few Americans who attend lessons usually help fill in the blanks when English vocabulary escapes the monks. I am also fortunate to have found an experienced practitioner in another state who is available to talk on the phone and exchange e-mail messages. What’s the old saying? Where there is a will there is a way.

5 Likes

Nice. Yeah, we have a Thailand (cant remembe, I think) a good couple hours from here. They have English Dharma talks but its so late in the evening Id have to take a good fiftty dollar cab back. The on near me, the abbot is always out of town and people only come on his property during yearly ceremonies.