Funding for PhD in early Buddhism. Can you help?

Hi everyone!
I have decided to continue my academic studies towards a PhD. In June I graduated from a MA in Buddhist Studies at the University of South Wales with a Distinction award. I can’t give many details about my option for a doctorate because I haven’t even formally applied, but here’s a bit about it:

• It would be at a good European university
  • The focus would be early Buddhism, and a super interesting topic—I’d say that, wouldn’t I!
  • I already had an informal meeting with a professor there, who is a recognised scholar in early Buddhism
  • The meeting went well and he seemed willing to supervise me

Of course the challenge is funding. This is why, although nothing is set in stone yet, I want to be ahead of this and look for as many options as possible. My plan is to apply for a small scholarship from the university, which would only cover tuition fees. If I am granted this, I will only need additional funds to move there, and even if I can’t get them I will manage somehow — you just don’t let an opportunity like that go to waste! But if I don’t even get the small scholarship I’ll need to be more creative.

I’ve looked into the main names known for funding Buddhist scholarship: the Khyentse Foundation generally gives smaller amounts than what I need to projects also smaller than a full PhD, but I might still try; the Robert H. N. Ho Family Foundation only funds things like the writing year—though very generously. Perhaps one may find more options in Thailand, Taiwan, Malaysia… So that’s why I write here, to see if anyone can help, or anyone has any idea or suggestion of where I might look into.

Absolutely ANY information or hint will be much much appreciated!
Smiles to everyone! :slight_smile:

7 Likes

@sujato do you know of anything or of anyone who might ? Thx

Hi Bernat,