Good and bad 'energy' of places where you meditate

As a scientist I have been puzzled about this phenomenon for quite some time, since I can’t find a rational explanation for it, but through experience I find it undeniable that some places are better to meditate than others because they have a better ‘energy’ (this reminds me of a book by Hemingway I read many years ago, where he said that some places were better than others for writing - at the time it didn’t make any sense to me but perhaps for creative writing too the ‘energy’ of the place is important).
Anyway, back on the subject of meditation, it seems to me that if you meditate where people have meditated for many years, you can ‘plug in’ as it were into the energy of the place and have better meditation. If you meditate in the place where a very good meditator has, it’s even more evident.
And on the other hand some places have clearly a negative energy. I remember after doing a lot of meditation so that I was quite sensitive and energized, visiting someone I knew and who had been unkind to me sometimes in the past. I remember feeling in their house such negative energy that it was nearly scary, so I realised that this person had serious problems and I felt a lot of compassion for them (rather than a sense of grievance for what they had done to me in the past).
So I was wondering whether you had had similar experiences, and whether you had an explanation (either from the EBT or from elsewhere) for this phenomenon.

2 Likes

Hi Stef,

I too get that feeling in places where a lot of meditation is/has been going on, but I have not seen any experiments done on it, and suspect that it is all in my mind. Maybe I just like the smell of incense permeated furnishings. :wink:

Having said that I had a lovely time living and meditating in an apartment once, even suggesting that there must’ve been a meditator occupying it before me, only to find out that two floors below a Christian meditation group met frequently.