Help with a suitable suttas please

I am looking for the connection between subject, sense sphere (passive), feeling and sense sphere (mind(active)) and emotion please. Any suggestions would be useful. I give thanks in advance.

1 Like

First it is necessary to understand the perspective from which the suttas approach this subject, which is the removal of the fetters. This can be accomplished at two points, sense restraint at the arrival of the raw sense data, and change in the perceptual process of received data:

“Experience, represented by the six types of consciousness, is the outcome of two determinant influences: the “objective” aspect on the one hand, that is, the in-coming sensory impressions; and the “subjective” aspect on the other hand, namely, the way in which these sense impressions are received and cognized.8 Supposedly objective perceptual appraisal is in reality conditioned by the subject as much as by the object.9

One’s experience of the world is the product of an interaction between the “subjective” influence exercised by how one perceives the world, and the “objective” influence exercised by the various phenomena of the external world.”


“The crucial stage in this sequence, where the subjective bias can set in and distort the perceptual process, occurs with the initial appraisal of feeling (vedanã) and cognition (saññã). Initial distortions of
the sense data arising at this stage will receive further reinforcement by thinking and by conceptual proliferation.17” —-Analayo

The OP question covers both of these, and initially here is information on the sense restraint process, as contrasted with cognition.

See indriya samvara for sutta references:

Feelings are part of the sense process, while emotions arise from views and are of the perception process. Of the three unwholesome roots, greed and hatred are emotional and are counteracted by tranquillity, while views are mental:

"When tranquillity is developed, what purpose does it serve? The mind is developed. And when the mind is developed, what purpose does it serve? Passion is abandoned.

"When insight is developed, what purpose does it serve? Discernment is developed. And when discernment is developed, what purpose does it serve? Ignorance is abandoned.”—-AN 2.30


Thanks Paul. Would it be possible to send the PDF link for Satipatthana as well please so I can read and compare.

1 Like

This practical information is included in chapter XI, “Dhammas: The Sense Spheres.” The fourth foundation of mindfulness covers five groups under the overarching frame of the four noble truths, of which the sense spheres play a specific role:

“Based on a sufficient degree of mental stability through overcoming the hindrances, contemplation of dhammas proceeds to an analysis of subjective personality, in terms of the five aggregates, and to an analysis of the relation between subjective personality and the outer world, in terms of the six sense-spheres.10 These two analyses form a convenient basis for developing the awakening factors, whose successful establishment constitutes a necessary condition for awakening. To awaken is to fully understand the four noble truths “as they really are”, this being the final exercise among the contemplations of dhammas and the successful culmination of satipaììhãna practice.11”—-chap. IX

1 Like

Hi Paul. Do you also have a link to the Salayatanavibhanga Sutta (MIII 221). I have information saying that the Satipatthana Sutta is not the only proper way for carrying out satipatthana contemplation, but only recommendations for possible applications. There are other objects of contemplation distinct from the Satipatthana sutta.