Helping out with server development

Hi,

I am a Buddhist and software engineer. I do back end Python work, and my company’s stack is similar to what Sutta Central uses. I was wondering if I could help out in any way?

Thanks,

Andrew

13 Likes

Welcome to the community @dayunbao. We are all pleased to meet you, and I think we should call Ven @sujato here swiftly.

Thank you for your offer. :pray:

4 Likes

Hi Andrew, thanks for contacting us.

We’d love to have your help! As you might guess, there is always too much work and not enough people.

Can you give some more background as to your experience and interests? Is there any special field you’d like to look into? Backend scripting? API design? Search? Data Management?

Checkout our Github here, you should be able to set up locally:

Note that we have two apps: SuttaCentral for reading, and Bilara for making translations. Both are in Python and use a similar stack (ArangoDB, LitElement on front end.)

The SuttaCentral app is in a state of flux at the moment, as we are readying a version with major breaking changes. We haven’t cleaned out the old code yet, so it’s a bit of a mess.

You can see the new site in development here:

It’s based on the master branch and is usually updated every few days.

And I hope you don’t mind, but from your user name, do you speak Chinese? Because one of our main developers is Chinese and he’d love to have another Chinese speaker around!

5 Likes

Hi Bhante,

I think my backend scripting and API-related experience is the most relevant for SuttaCentral. My current company’s main product is very API driven. In fact we started implementing a new API last summer. I’m a junior software engineer, and so I wasn’t responsible for designing the new API, but I’ve been helping to implement it. I’ve also have some experience with Docker.