How Do You Communicate With Monks/Nuns

I’m not going to pretend I’m a Buddhist pro in anyway whatsoever, neither do I want to sound obnoxious or rude in any way as I do totally respect the Buddhist community.

As with anything in life, I’ve always found it extremely difficult to engage in something when having very little knowledge, in modern day words I’m calling myself a complete noob to Buddhism. All I’ve studied to date is the Buddha and his 29 years growing up in a palace, and the following 6 years completely suffering to discover awakening.
Parts of this connect with me in a way that I can’t put into words.

For the past couple of years I have been attending a Monastery 20 miles away from where I am stationed. I’ve only ever walked around the gardens with my pug, and sat on the benches in the courtyard when it has been raining. I’ve taken offerings to put on the table, but never joined in with the actual dinner gathering, this is because I do not eat during the day time, I’ve got into a habit of going off all food in the daylight hours, not intentionally, it’s just I got bored of eating, food just seems boring to me.

Though I will smile at the Monks and Nuns and say hello, I’m just not sure how to approach them with any kind of conversation, it’s almost like I don’t want to intrude on there peace and tranquility.
It’s not like I have questions, it would just be interesting to talk to them about the gardens/plants and insects etc.
I never see them sitting in the gardens, I never see them sitting in the courtyard, I only ever pass them either around the kitchen area or walking into the Temple.
And though I have written to the Monastery about this subject, I’ve never had a reply.

So how does a complete newcomer to Buddhism, approach Monks/Nuns within the community without any understanding of the scriptures, chants and lingo.

Thankyou for your time reading this!

3 Likes