Instructions for new lay buddhist

Good afternoon everyone:

I apologize if I’m in the wrong category for this. I’m new to Buddhism and this forum. I did searches before I posted, but still getting the lay of the land.

Anyway, I’m a 42 year old looking on what to do for a daily practice to put the Buddha’s teachings in my life. I’m definitely sold on keeping to the Pali Canon. I feel there is much ancient wisdom there. I have been studying the suttas almost daily from this website and they are definitely eye opening. There are a few Buddhist groups in my area, but I feel they are far from what I read about in the suttas.

As a lay Buddhist, where do I begin to put everything into practice? I have no idea where to start. There is also SO much information out there on meditation. I’m pretty sure there’s a right and wrong way to do it. I just want to make sure I’m on the correct path before I start a serious meditation path.

Any info on where I should start will be great!

6 Likes

Just a reminder that on this forum we do not allow discussion of personal practice. From the FAQ:

Please make sure your responses are in keeping with this rule and focus on the larger issue of where to begin learning about Buddhism. Thank you.

7 Likes

Perhaps you’ll find one or two of these books helpful:

Welcome to the forum!

6 Likes

Thank you so much! That will definitely be a good start!

4 Likes

Devotion: Reflect often on what the Buddha, Dhamma and Sangha mean and what they mean to you

Generosity: not just seeing others benefit, but also the act of not putting yourself first. The act of giving up what may have otherwise been dear to you

Virtue: keep the five precepts

Other than that: read suttas, listen to Dhamma talks. Think. Reflect.