My translation of the sutta excerpts from "Pali Buddhist Texts" by Rune Johansson

I started learning Pali about six months ago, and one of the earliest books I read was Pali Buddhist Texts Explained to the Beginner, Rune E A Johansson, Curzon Press, Copenhagen, Scandinavian Institute of Asian Studies Monograph Series, Third Edition, 1981.

At that time, I had great difficulty parsing Pali, but I fell in love with the book. It consists of selected excerpts from various suttas, arranged to form a concise rendering of Buddha’s core teachings, in Pali, followed by a word for word explanation, and a translation to English, together with some commentary.

I felt this book elegantly captured the core concepts of what the Buddha taught, and one of my goals was to attempt my own independent translation of the texts, to prove to myself that I know enough Pali to be able to understand the texts on my own.

I finally was able to gain the confidence to complete this project, and I wish to present my results today. The endeavour took about a week: 1-2 days to identify and collect the sutta excerpts, about 3-4 days of translation, and 1-2 days to clean up and publish.

I also took the opportunity to have a plain English translation, taking out all the repetitions and vocatives, which I present at the end called “Concluding Summary”. If you wish to skip all the grammatical analysis and transliteration, you can jump straight to this section if you wish.

I can’t really describe the immense sense of satisfaction, and dare I say exuberance, from doing this project. It has also helped me enormously in understanding what the Buddha thought - I achieved full understanding at about 4am this morning, when everything clicked together, so now I feel liberated.

I also translated a few of them.

My Johanasson Translations

#2 to #5 I memorized them so I could translate them when I want mentally, so I haven’t done it on text.

6. The Impermanence Of Life

Days and nights pass
Life is ended