On dhammaṭṭhiti in the Susimaparibbājaka Sutta, SN 12.70 and elsewhere

I think this is an interesting topic hopefully worthy of discussion. Much gratitude to anyone who can correct any errors I have made, or give any feedback! I’m just a beginner with Pāli. :anjal:

Outiline
In the Susimaparibbājaka Sutta, SN 12.70, we have the following passage:
Sujato:

“Susīma, first comes knowledge of the stability of natural principles. Afterwards there is knowledge of extinguishment.”

“Pubbe kho, susima, dhammaṭṭhitiñāṇaṃ, pacchā nibbāne ñāṇan”ti.

I found the expression ‘the stability of natural principles’ very odd, and not with any apparent decipherable meaning in English. So I looked into this term dhammaṭṭhitiñāṇaṃ.

Searching the canon for dhammaṭṭhit* I found in another seven suttas, two of which I will not discuss as they are from late sections of the KN.

I’ll give my attempt at translating this, and then the extracts of the other occurrences in the canon, followed by my attempts at translating them too, to see if my take on dhammaṭṭhit* holds.

My attempt:

“Susīma, first comes knowledge of the state of things. Afterwards there is knowledge of extinguishment.”
Explanation: It means first get to grips with how this world works, understanding phenomena. In a way we could say how things abide. Then, you can get knowledge of … basically cessation of ‘things’! = nibbāna. It is perhaps including a contrast between lasting (ṭṭhiti), and ceasing (nibbāna) - continuance, and cessation. Here I translated ṭṭhiti as ‘state’. But ‘continuance of things’ might also work. They both have a near meaning, ‘state’ alluding to the continuance, which makes it a state - the ‘way’ that they abide.

DN 9
In the context of doctrines:

When they said this, Poṭṭhapāda said to them:
Evaṃ vutte, poṭṭhapādo paribbājako te paribbājake etadavoca:

“I too understand that the ascetic Gotama didn’t make any definitive statement at all regarding whether the cosmos is eternal and so on.