Permission to translate Bhante Sujato's books into russian

Dear Venerable @sujato, I’ve enjoyed reading your books, learning your understanding of Dhamma-Vinaya and meditation approach. Your teachings resonate with me strongly.
English is my second language and my mother tongue is russian. While reading several times a thought of translation came to me.
I understand it is a serious delicate job, and I’m not a professional, however that’s not something completely new to me.
So I would like to kindly ask your permission to translate A Swift Pair of Messengers.
And maybe somebody else here has anything to say about it?

6 Likes

If you wanted a smaller project to start with, It would be amazing to have Bhante’s introductory articles here on the website translated into Russian. For example, Introduction to SuttaCentral, Guide to the Sutta Pitaka, etc.

It’s only a friendly suggestion. I don’t want to dampen your enthusiasm for translating Swift Pair of Messengers.

Bhante @Sujato is, of course, the one to talk to.

4 Likes

Bhantr Sujato is the one to talk to, but he also doesn’t believe in copyright - so I think you are free to go ahead!

2 Likes

Hi Timtim, thanks for asking so nicely!

I’d be honored if you want to translate any of my work. Please go ahead, Let us know what you come up with.

4 Likes

Bhante @sujato, thank you :slight_smile: :pray:
Do you have any kind of source? Or my best option is to extract the text from pdf?

@Snowbird, that’s also a great idea, thank you, it doesn’t dampen enthusiasm at all :slight_smile:
They don’t seem to be very large, I think I can do that, it won’t take too much time.
Do I do them plain text or html? Should we discuss it in direct messages?

1 Like