Proselytizing

Recently on a visit to my weekend condo at the beach I ran into the couple who own the unit next to mine. They previously knew that I was going through a difficult time in my life and, in a friendly gesture, asked me in for a drink (they imbibed alcohol, I had club soda).

In the course of the discussion I mentioned that my newfound Buddhist practice has helped me get through a rough period in my life. The couple used this information as an opportunity to preach the gospel to me (for those unaccustomed to such terminology, the couple started telling me that Jesus is the only path to salvation).

I took the preaching in stride, but it raises questions about the appropriateness of proselytizing in various religions. I am new to Buddhist practice and have mentioned to a variety of friends and acquaintances that the practice has helped me immensely in recovering from a life crisis. I never advocate the practice to anyone else, but merely observe that it has been helpful to me. But perhaps I should just keep this to myself lest it come across as proselytizing

I should add that when in mentioning my practice to various people I have come across several individuals who also practice Buddhism. I have made a number of new friends this way and solidified friendships with others who either practice Buddhism unbeknownst to me prior or who are sympathetic to my practice (having noted that it has led to vast improvements in my frame of mind).

Note: In introducing the Discussion category Sujato indicates that this category should be used “to develop your practice of Right Speech.” If this discussion is more appropriate to the Watercooler category I trust a moderator will move it there.

19 Likes

It’s a tough question. Just to point out one aspect in the many many layers: While “Jesus is the way” has the great selling point of a simple message - what the heck is ‘Buddhism’ (the eightfold path?) or ‘Buddhist practice’? (‘mindfulness?’)