Question about God

What are the references of God about in the Suttas? What is heaven? What is hell?
Thank you for your help, I am very new to Buddhism.

3 Likes

in a tiny and simplistic nutshell

in the Buddhist Teaching no special place is allocated to such an entity as God in the Judeo-Christian monotheistic sense, i.e. a creator God which is eternal, all knowing, all-mighty

instead thereā€™re gods or deities, some of them are creators, like the Brahmas, but like humans theyā€™re mortal, albeit living immeasurably longer than humans

heavens are the realms where the gods/deities dwell, thereā€™re quite a few heavenly realms each one being loftier than the preceding one

beings who acquired much of good kamma over the course of their many existences can be reborn as gods, extremely spiritually advanced beings can be reborn as the creator Brahmas

hell or a plane of misery is obviously the opposite of heaven, a place of retribution for evil deeds committed in previous lives

just like virtuous beings are destined to birth in heaven, depraved individuals destined to birth in hell which thereā€™re a few levels of just like thereā€™re of heavens

however no one remains either in heaven or in hell forever, as soon as their kamma which brought them this type of birth is exhausted theyā€™re reborn at other places, on a higher or a lower plane according to their remaining kamma

all this is Samsara

the concept of God is unimportant as s/he plays no role in the Buddhist concept of emancipation, the genesis of creation isnā€™t a point of interest of the Buddhist soteriology either, itā€™s acknowledged that Brahmas do it and it goes on cyclically repeating itself with each new cycle of creation and destruction of the Universe, no mystery and no miracle, itā€™s also said that the string of reincarnations of any given being has no traceable beginning, whatā€™s important is getting out of it for good

4 Likes

Thank You