Question regarding a few phrases in SN 10.12: With Alavaka

Hello everyone :slightly_smiling_face:

I was reading this sutta today with the ‘line by line’ feature turned on (excellent feature BTW) and I could not help question certain pali phrases were associated with certain english phrases that I’m not used to seeing.

First of all, I humbly acknowledge that I am no pali expert…not by a long shot :laughing:

However, you know after a while when you’ve read a few suttas on SC and you associate certain pali phrases and their equivalent english translations and all of a sudden your brain comes across something and it says “Hmm that’s interesting, I was not expecting that”. :thinking:

I’ve highlighted and drawn a line to what I am used to seeing how certain pali words are associated/translated in enghlish:

Thanks in advance for your helpful explanation/s :anjal:

5 Likes

Nice catch, Adrian. It looks like from that section on, the Pāli is out of order with the English translation. I’d suggest reporting it in the thread below for the next scheduled cleanup of errors and typos:

2 Likes

AFAIK, due to differences in how sentences are formulated in Pali versus in English translators like venerable @sujato may have to map specific sentences in a swapped order to that found in the original. Maybe he can confirm if that is the case here. :anjal:

2 Likes

In which case it seems the segments are too small, no?

As Gabriel notes, the relation between root and translation segments is only ever approximate. This is natural language, nothing is ever precise or clear-cut, and to expect a formal system to provide that is to be perpetually doomed to disappointment.

This kind of issue occurs in prose, too, but is much more prevalent in verses, where the Pali freely mixes up word-order for both metrical and rhetorical purposes.