SuttaCentral

Real Cool: What Nibbana is—and isn't. Online talk with Bhante Sujato

Bhante @sujato has been invited to give an online talk for the Buddhist Gem Fellowship (BGF) in Malaysia. All welcome to attend, details below:

2021-07-18T08:00:00Z

Topic: “REAL COOL : What NIBBANA Is and Isn’t?” by Bhante Sujato
Time: Jul 18, 2021 04:00 PM Kuala Lumpur
06:00 PM Sydney

Join Zoom Meeting

Meeting ID: 858 8596 7360
Passcode: BGF01

18 Likes

Hope the this is put online too. Unfortunately living in the american midwest is not conducive to live viewing most of Bhante’s speaking arrangements :frowning:

1 Like

Just curious regarding the little statement on the top right hand corner of the poster…

“for non-muslims only”

Why would this be the case?

In some majority Muslim countries, it can be against the law to entice a Muslim person to convert to another religion, so often non-Muslim religious events will ask Muslim people not to attend. I am not sure it’s the case here, but seeing that it’s listed as in Malaysia, that might be the reason.

9 Likes

Thank you for the explanation :pray:

1 Like

Is the talk’s title inspired by Gwendolyn Brooks by any chance?

The Pool Players.
Seven at the Golden Shovel.

We real cool. We
Left school. We

Lurk late. We
Strike straight. We

Sing sin. We
Thin gin. We

Jazz June. We
Die soon.

4 Likes

A TRANSCRIPT would be helpful for those who have difficulties in assessing Online Event or Video. Metta :pray:

1 Like

I think a similar thing happens in Indonesia.

1 Like
12 Likes

Just a heads-up bhante @sujato, I think you meant to refer to the economics concept of marginal utility instead of opportunity cost in your comments about ice cream in the talk! :anjal:

1 Like