The fate of the four aggregates of mind and orthodox Theravada

Continuing the discussion from Bhikkhu Bodhi on Nibbāna:

This is interesting. Some questions come to mind:

What sources indicate that this is the Orthodox Theravada position?

Are those sources sutta, abhidhamma, commentary, or other?

What is the relevance of this understanding to Orthodox Theravada?

How is it known that this categorical dichotomy between the form aggregate and the rest is the case?

:pray:

They understand: ‘When my body breaks up and my life has come to an end, everything that’s felt, since I no longer take pleasure in it, will become cool right here. Only bodily remains will be left.

SN 12.51

4 Likes

Thank you Venerable!

SN 12.51 is interesting as the phrase ‘sarīrāni avasissantīti pajānāti’ seems to be the one that you’ve bolded? From what I can tell the parallels for this sutta do not contain this statement or an equivalent, but I may be wrong as I’m no expert in either language. Also interesting is that the three translations into english are different:

• Only bodily remains will be left. → sujato
  • Mere bodily remains will be left. → bodhi
  • While the corpse will remain. → thanissaro

As I’m no expert in Pali I can’t ascertain which is correct, but the first seems the one that can be read most clearly to imply a dichotomy. The other half of that dichotomy from the context seems to be life? It seems to be stating that life utterly ceases in contrast to the bodily remains.

As for the parallels…

The parallel - SA 292 - does not seem to contain this statement of the body remaining in contrast to life. The simile of the hot pot that cools exists so that would indicate a clear parallel. @cdpatton can you verify this is the case?