What are your thoughts on Goenka vipassana?

Have you tried it? What did you like, what didn’t you like? Is it in line with the Buddhas teachings?

1 Like

There is a Goenka center within driving distance of where I live. The “Code of Discipline” for retreats posted online is a little off-putting. I understand the intent to provide a distraction-free retreat environment, but the way the code is worded seems a bit “scoldy” to me. I have attended retreats at the Thai Wat closer to where I live. There are rules there as well, but frankly, the monks seem to convey an air of compassion that is somewhat lacking in the rather cold language on the “Code of Discipline” page at the Goenka retreat website. Of course, I haven’t attended any events at the Goenka center, so I have no first-hand knowledge of it. All I can say is that the online gateway is not exactly inviting.

6 Likes

They make you listen to a few hours or so a day of video and audio recordings of Goenka. He is quite a charismatic speaker, and tends to get a few laughs every time. I don’t really like the interpretation of the suttas he gives. The idea that pains in your body are the “psychic” remnants of past bad deeds / negative karma is actually more Jain than anything, and I think can lead to negative ideation about yourself which is not a very good way to grow in Dhamma. In the Goenka tradition it’s either his way or the highway, seriously, you can get exiled/banished from the retreat centers if it’s found out that you have practiced other meditation techniques — verrry cultic. :open_mouth:

If you don’t let these points bother you too much, they are some of the nicest retreat centers and the fact that they enforce silence (what they mistakenly call “noble silence”) makes for some very peaceful surroundings and a very serious meditation schedule.

13 Likes